Previous Post

Reality is so boring. Art gives us an alternate reality or at least one that puts color into your world. I’ve been chasing down this guy for a chat about where VENT could go. I’ve never been so surprised that someone like that works at Texas A&M. It’s been a little awkward at first garnering awareness and support for Vent to continue but there are so many questions I want to know the answer to. I’m making things happen… slowly but surely.

I don’t want to feel outlandish or foolish for pursuing things that push the boundaries of what I’ve heard friends and family call REALITY. What is that supposed to mean exactly? I happen to think we all contribute to the reality and therefore hold a responsibility to ourselves and to others to make it what we would like it to be. We can mold it like Play-Doh.

Or like Plato, whose allegory of the cave rocked the way a young Geena perceived reality senior year in high school. My teacher, Dr. Bissett, was a woman reminiscent of a fairy from Disney’s Sleeping Beauty. She flicked fingernails that shined like terra-cotta justice when she explained her most valuable point. La Rell (that’s really her name) wore a proud silver-haired bun atop her head, because her hair was too long and in her opinion old women who wore their hair long were strange and unbecoming. She probably held the fate of many seniors in the thicket of that bun. Actually, it probably had something to do with her Native American heritage that she was so fond of mentioning. Story has it, she rode through her old alma mater on a motorcycle once, as a teenager. That really doesn’t have much to do with the story, but I really enjoyed that class, especially because it was taught by someone that seemed like she could have been a Hogwart’s professor.

So. Plato’s myth of the cave is this: There are a group of enchained people who have been doomed to stare at a blank wall and have been in that position their entire lives. All they can see of the world behind them, just outside the open mouth of the cave, are the shadows cast by a fire glowing in the cave. The prisoners keep each other company but have made up forms to understand the shadows they see.

A prisoner breaks free. That prisoner is now able to see the world as it really is. To me, that is ultimate freedom and happiness. To be able to unsubscribe to the things others want you to believe and try to understand it on your own terms.  This is unrelated– also maybe related, but I saw two badass rainbows at the moments when I needed them the most within a one-week period.  For serious.

Dang.  I have a lot of things to do on the Internet! Right now I haven’t signed up for the monopolistic Suddenlink and have been relying on coming to school. It saves money, and honestly, I think I could keep it up for awhile. Apparently I spend my time blogging about what I could do instead of doing it. GENIUS!  Plus it makes me cheat on my written journal.  Typing is just so much faaaaster than writing.

I’ll be back with cooler things to read/do/touch/feel/taste. For now, here are some images of Alice in Wonderland, one of my favorite stories as a kid (and as a Big Kid). One quote in particular always stood out to me and I think sums up what makes me drive forward and pursue seemingly impossible dreams.  [Edit: I got so carried away with the pictures I forgot to include the quote!]  Here it is:

“I can’t believe that!” said Alice.

“Can’t you?” the queen said in a pitying tone. “Try again, draw a long breath, and shut your eyes.”

Alice laughed. “There’s no use trying,” she said. “One can’t believe impossible things.”

“I dare say you haven’t had much practice,” said the queen. “When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

This story taught me that if Reality wants me to believe in it, it better believe in me!

My apartment is almost together, and every place I’ve lived in a little bit of Alice in Wonderland flavor has creeped in. . . I’ve been a little painstakingly anal. I have to rein in the chaos and make it work for me. My friends who live in the cabins across the street have even gotten into the spirit. Sort of. They stacked up a bunch of heavy catering trays into the form of a giant pyramid. It eventually fell after a faulty parking job (won’t explain that) but this means now we have to paint them into giant playing cards and/or have an Alice in Wonderland themed get-together.

image: vogue

Leave a Reply

