Jockin on Yo Bitch Ass

By: epluribusgeenum

Aug 06 2009

Tags: , , ,

Category: music

Leave a comment

There’s something special about someone who knows how to use the word “jockin” properly.

Three cases in point:

– In his song Fhwdgads, Strong Bad injects a voice-over in typical hip hop fashion as a warning to all Fhwdgads, and I quote, “C’mon Fhwdgads. I see you jocking me.” Strong Bad adds about 3500 cool points to anything.

– My search for a house at the end of my sophomore year in college yielded two things: a fair deal on a decent house, and a real character of a realtor named Curtis. First of all this guy’s whip was a fiery red Mustang complete with black racing stripes. After settling down in the carseats (he was going to give us a tour of potential homes) he asked us if we had ever seen Lord of War. Um, no? I expected him to recount an anecdote. Instead he popped out a small built-in screen from his dash and proceeded to start playing the DVD since he had just bought it. While he was driving. Anyway point is, at some moment during our day I got a little suspicious of some of his behavior and told him flat out, “I just don’t want to find out you’ve been jocking us, Curtis. Don’t go jocking us.”

He looked confused and replied, “Jocking? What does that mean?” His voice is a sluggish one not unlike Droopy the Bloodhound’s.

I explained, “Jocking means like, scamming or playing around with us in a non-friendly manner.”

Curtis blinked rapidly several times and goes, “Just because I’m a brotha doesn’t mean I know what jocking means.”

– This song, amongst others, by 19-year-old Harperactive is called “Jockin’ on Yo Bitch Ass.” Instant fan. I will admit, it was that word that did it for me. Luckily his music is good enough to match that tongue-in-cheek title. He samples a lot of random songs that I think my hip-hop radio clubber cousin would like but blends it with a beat and a melody that is palatable but damn near inspires whatever the aural equivalent of finger-licking would be. Other song titles that I enjoy are: For I Am Just a Docile House Cat, Let’s Be Friends Like the Friends Off Friends, Nothing Says Delicious Like the Inside of a Cowboy Hat. What goes on in this guy’s head?!

Visit him here by the album, or here at TheSixtyOne by the individual song, for deliciously FREE and DOWNLOADABLE tunes. God bless the Internet. Also, why do I always compare music to food? Am I that obsessed with either? Yes, maybe, yes. (munches on chip)

Leave a Reply

