Dear Cynthia Dunbar,

By: epluribusgeenum

Jul 24 2009

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

[I wrote this two weeks ago before the Texas State Board of Education meeting. Luckily, the magic of being involved in governmental affairs remains intact! SUCCESS! Okay, so I didn’t actually send this letter to Cynthia Dunbar because a) I don’t know her e-mail address and b) I don’t really want her to know mine and c) it was a rant. I DID send the bottom one to Governor Perry!]

I am the bus driver, and you can guess the rest.

You have nearly the whole of Texas intelligentia (there is such a thing!) sneering a collective “…What…the… [EXPLETIVE DELETED].” Let me share with you my favorite quotations of yours because you have quite a mouth. The fact that you could potentially be chairwoman of the Board of Education in the Lone-Star state makes me lie awake at night… even while on summer leave. In Paris.

“Public education is a subtly deceptive tool of perversion.” Not only do you believe that! Woo, you got a book published where you expand on that idea! You truly impress me.

According to you the Founding Fathers demanded “an emphatically Christian government” and that government should be guided by a “biblical litmus test.”

You are so original. Wow!

Having been raised in a deeply right-wing church, the fact that you chose–that anyone chooses–to play this card, I am left speechless.   OK.  Not so speechless.. but movng on.  I don’t think I even need to touch on the whole idea of separation of church and state–then again only those who attended the PERVERSION that is public school wouldn’t need me to explain why it’s an invalid argument. It’s not a surprise that you home-schooled her children. I’m not going to sit here and put down my home-schooled peers because at some point, your own education is your own responsibility and reflects your own will to learn. I know plenty of church friends that have been home-schooled and aren’t this thick-skulled. In fact, they’re admirably intelligent. But let’s at least take a gander at one of the founding fathers’ reputations, shall we?

Abraham Lincoln: When I do good, I feel good. When I do bad, I feel bad. That is my religion. Cynthia I don’t know if you know this, but Abe was the MAN!  So he wsn’t a “founding father,” in chronological sense, but in a philosophical and historical sense?  Yes.  And I have that quote on a plaque on my wall. Do you see any insane right-wing tendency in what he just said? No! Even with the whole scheme of slavery, geez, look how far our country has come. It took forever for the super-conservative Mormon church to allow black men to hold the priesthood. Bit of a late bloomer, but kudos, Mormon church. But doesn’t that say something about religion and how it bends to fit the times? Isn’t that a bit odd to you? Honestly, at this point who would I trust to watch my (future) children while I popped over to the grocery store? Abraham Lincoln or you?

I think you know the answer to that one.

Now, you also wrote that a terrorist attack on America during the first six months of an Obama administration “will be a planned effort by those with whom Obama truly sympathizes to take down the America that is threat to tyranny.”

You blow my mind, Mrs. Dunbar. I didn’t even believe the “Loose Change” conspiracy theory about (begin exaggeration voice) Dubya’s big 9/11 plan to make himself look good! Not for one bit. And I’m a left-leaning moderate. You have to draw the line somewhere.

I can thank Governor Rick Perry for sending you Texas’s voters way. His last term he got his way with ultraconservative dentist Don McLeroy for the same position, but he’s a tenacious one, ain’t he? It’s that Southern pluck! Although I have to say. Where does he get you guys? Fresh off the list of “Every Kind of Adult a Kid is Typically Scared Of”? Dentist! Overbearing self-righteous Mom! Haha!

I have to make something clear. I consider myself Christian. Non-affiliate of any church, but when it comes to Christ, yes, I believe in him in every sense of the word. But I DO NOT WANT TO BE THAT KIND OF CHRISTIAN. When you read any book, do you just taketaketake and not think about what you’re digesting? You’re supposed to chew, swallow, and synthesize, not just regurgitate! I mean I love Harry Potter but that doesn’t mean I think everything in that
book is real! (Although Hogwart’s clearly must exist.) If anything. Why not be an example and a light?

I shed a bit of light on what I think about you to our mutual friend Governor Perry. You may find the letter attached. Hope it’s okay– no backstabbing here, nuh uh. Honest people stab in the front!

Signed,
Geena Sisomphou

———–

Governor Perry,

I am a 21 year-old female who is not planning on having kids any time soon, because I’m nowhere near prepared, but I still deeply value children as pure vessels of human thought, emotion, and potential. I know that sounds really contrived. But there are times when I get so frustrated by how little credit and actual consideration our society gives to children as people. They may not know everything adults may know, but they learn a heck of a lot faster than adults do and those quick minds are so important to everything this country stands for.

I understand that religion is an important facet of the entire matter. As long as that’s in the ring, I’ll say this: Cynthia Dunbar must have forgotten the fact that Satan didn’t want free agency. He wanted everyone to make the same choices and get the same fate. He did not want any mistakes, any straying from any path, nothing.

Under Dunbar’s publicly proclaimed rigid views, I doubt children would be able to cultivate their minds in the way they choose. It’s how anyone learns anything and grows–the process of choice, mistake, and resolution. Governor Perry, I want a gardener for a chairman, not a professional weed-whacker. I’m not saying we need to give children their own rights! I’m not crazy. But I do think we have a responsibility to make the kinds of plans, preparations, and choices that will lead to the best things for our future generation. And as far as America is concerned, the best means the freedom to choose what we want for our OWN children, not according to some woman who is, in my opinion, not impressive.

I do not want Cynthia Dunbar to come anywhere near my children or near their education. I don’t want her to have any say in what books my children read, nor do I want to see her in a public bathroom.

Because things would go down.

Please enjoy the attached picture.

Sincerely,
Geena Sisomphou

Leave a Reply

