No one does it quite like you

This one goes out to my bike.  I don’t give a flip about what you say about material things.  I care about that bike like I do for my dog.  The thing about owning something is that you don’t have to hear back talk, it’s never in a bad mood when it sees you/you see it, but it still challenges you — it’s all in how you use it. 

It’s a different kind of relationship.  But I like it.  There is no comparison to feeling my calves burn and drive me toward wherever I’m going… it doesn’t even matter.  The simple pleasure of heading somewhere, even if it’s nowhere… it doesn’t get freer than that. 

That being said there is nothing like morning rides.  Now I’ll be the first to say that I am not the coolest person when it’s early… in fact I know I can be a real bitch or just plain lazy.  All it takes is some food, music, and a bike ride.  A long time ago I took a much-needed weekend trip to Austin (in fact I just got back from there a few minutes ago) and the best part about that vacation was waking up, chatting with my friend Ian while he ate his breakfast, playing ukulele on the porch, and taking my friend Garrett’s ride out for a morning cycle. 


A ride on Home Street. Coincidence? I THINK NOT. 🙂

The vibes I felt on this most recent trip could only be attributed, in my opinion, to how much bike riding was done.  I wish there had been more.

All I can say is — if you’re gonna ride with me, don’t ride behind me.  Don’t gripe if I’m going faster than the pack.  I ride to be with my bike first and foremost.  Get next to me and let me see how happy it makes you written all over your face and we’re in business.

Leave a Reply

