Home neat home

I just arrived in Garland. Spring break, woo! It’s actually kind of a melancholy break, weather-wise. No sign of sun just yet. And when I walked into my old room, put down my bags, I took a deep cliched breath and thought about how I no longer had a “home,” Garden-state style. It felt really weird.

Andrew Largeman: You know that point in your life when you realize that the house that you grew up in isn’t really your home anymore? All of the sudden even though you have some place where you can put your stuff that idea of home is gone.
Sam: I still feel at home in my house.
Andrew Largeman: You’ll see when you move out it just sort of happens one day one day and it’s just gone. And you can never get it back. It’s like you get homesick for a place that doesn’t exist. I mean it’s like this rite of passage, you know. You won’t have this feeling again until you create a new idea of home for yourself, you know, for you kids, for the family you start, it’s like a cycle or something. I miss the idea of it. Maybe that’s all family really is. A group of people who miss the same imaginary place.

Tonight I went to my brother’s Fight Night, a pretty ridiculous under-the-radar tradition here in G-town. I’d say Garland High School tradition but I hardly think that would be fruitful. Once you affiliate schools with violence, even if it’s organized, (relatively) safe, and between friends, shit hits the ceiling. But I love being back in G-town. I like where this town is going (I see people walking and biking everywhere!! The other day I saw an family of people who were overweight walking down the street, and I hate saying that, but know what I love more? Seeing a family doing something positive and healthy with each other.), I like the friends my little brother has, I like that his life seems so happy, I like coming home and giving my parents a big hug, I like that everytime I come home my dad is in the front room and my mom is in the kitchen and she smells like she’s been cooking Laotian food, I like how excited Mojo gets when he sees my Mom and vice-versa, I like that my mom is such a clean freak that I can drop a fish stick on the kitchen floor at 2 am in the dark and totally eat it and not be worried, I like that my parents/younger brother bought fish sticks for me because she knows I like them, I like I like I like!

Tomorrow I am heading to New Orleans to see my friend Bryan’s new life in New Orleans with Kara and Tom. Eight hours… here comes many a round of 20 questions, lots of bathroom breaks, and the roadtrip tune show-and-tell. Ahhhh. šŸ™‚ I also can’t wait to see New Orleans. Such a dark city, with such a tumultuous history and an unparalleled culture.

I’ll post pictures when I get back to College Station and get my forgetful hands on my uploading cord. šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

